Tuesday, February 07, 2012

Winning Books for Kids

Caldecott and Newbery Medal Awards, 2012 Edition
In late January, the American Library Association announced its Annual Youth Media Awards.  The Caldecott Medal is awarded to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.  The Newbery Medal is awarded to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

If you have not yet had the pleasure, enjoy the winning and honor book titles.

Caldecott Medal Winner
A Ball for Daisy, written and illustrated by Chris Raschka
A wordless book about a spunky dog and his well-loved red ball.

Honor Books
Blackout, written and illustrated by John Rocco
Grandpa Green, written and illustrated by Lane Smith
Me... Jane, written and illustrated by Patrick McDonnell

Newbery Medal Winner
Dead End in Norvelt by Jack Gantos
In the historic town of Norvelt, Pennsylvania, twelve-year-old Jack Gantos spends the summer of 1962 grounded for various offenses until he is assigned to help an elderly neighbor with a most unusual chore involving the newly dead, molten wax, twisted promises, Girl Scout cookies, underage driving, lessons from history, typewriting, and countless bloody noses.

Honor Books
Inside Out and Back Again by Thanhha Lai
Breaking Stalin's Nose by Eugene Yelchin